We Need Feminism in the Workplace 

Feminism has come such a long way, but we need to make a few improvements. This post will be about my own personal experiences, so I will not be able to completely cover this rather broad subject. 

This is why I need feminism in the workplace:

My first reason is because some of the children I’m in charge of will not listen to women. I don’t know why, but some of the kids are under the impression that men have more authority. This problem is being worked on, but it pisses me off that it even exists in the first place.

The second reason is a little more complex and aggravating. I have a male coworker, we’ll call him Jeff,  who makes me very uncomfortable. Jeff makes comments about my physical appearance, stares at me, sends me random messages, and is very touchy. He also does these things with another female coworker. Nothing he does is against our handbook, so my discomfort is my own problem. He isn’t doing anything illegal or dangerous, but I don’t want to be flirted with at work. Also, things will be so complex if I mention how uncomfortable this makes me. I don’t want to be responsible for any issues at work. I just wish I was viewed as somebody at work to do a job, not to be flirted with and goggled at.

I really do work at a great place, but I know other women are feeling the pressure I’m feeling and maybe even then some. Again, I can’t speak of other issues such as unequal pay or not getting promotions because of my gender because I haven’t experienced anything like that. My point is, the workplace is in need of feminism. 

I would love to hear feedback. Do you have any experiences in this area? Maybe from a male perspective? Let me know in the comments. 

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

