Thoughts I Have at Work

I finally found a job and I just finished my first week of work. Confidentiality is a big part of my job, so out of respect for everyone’s privacy, in this blog post or any other, I will not be telling you where exactly I work, and any names used will be changed. I work with elementary school children after school, and things get interesting very quickly. Here are a few of the normal and not so normal thoughts I have had just in this past week.

  1. My boss wants to talk to me so naturally I forgot how to communicate with my fellow human beings.
  2. Can my boss tell that I don’t know how to sit in a chair like a normal person? I have absolutely no idea where to position my arms when I’m sitting down and it’s becoming a problem.
  3. Why do kids either scream their concerns at you, or whisper so quietly that you don’t know what they’re saying? Does the happy medium come later in life? 
  4. I can’t wait until the kids have playtime because they like to share their Legos with me.
  5. I can’t believe I’m an adult, I’m actually excited to play with Legos. 
  6. That kid just did something they aren’t supposed to do, but it was hilarious. I must keep a straight face when talking to them about their behavior. 
  7. Are my coworkers also pretending they know how to be adults? Probably.
  8. Why do all of these kids look like clones of each other? 
  9. I hope no one can tell I’m a hot mess.
  10. When do I get my paycheck? I only have six dollars.
  11. Stop singing Work by Rihanna in your head, Megan, you don’t even know the lyrics.
  12. The mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell. Wait, what? Weird time for that to pop in my head. 
  13. All of these kids have similar sounding names, it’s hard to remember them all.
  14. At what point is it okay to actually hide from the children? Probably never.
  15. Bless the child that listened to me the first time. 
  16. Why did that child think it was a good idea to tie their shoes together and walk around? Also, why does that sound exactly like something I would do?
  17. Do my dogs know I miss them when I’m not home?
  18. It’s probably not okay that the only thing getting me through the week is the thought of spending the weekend in sweatpants and eating pizza.

Those are just a few thoughts that run through my head at work. Do you have similar thoughts when you’re at work? Let me know in the comments.

As always, never stop being kind.

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

1 thought on “Thoughts I Have at Work”

  1. Because I work in the evenings when normally around that time it would be having my dinner, depending on what I had a lunch depends on if I am feeling either peckish, or hungry. Me and my colleague are bad as each other tormenting ourselves, thinking about food. So this will be on our brain, while counting down how long left to go of my shift. Another time, sarcastic humour might pop into my brain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

