A Letter to Myself a Year Ago 

Megan,

Oh, my sweet girl, how your whole world is about to turn upside down. It’s a good thing you’re a fighter. There are just a few things I want to tell you, and some advice I’d like to give.

The first thing I’d like you to know is that you are in deep denial about your depression. You know deep down something is wrong, get help now. Also, be patient with yourself. It’s not your fault that you have depression, and it won’t fix itself over night. Hang in there.

A missed opportunity is not the end of the world. You’re allowed to prioritize your mental health. There is no mandatory time you have to accomplish a goal. 

You get another chance to make things right with that person. In fact, give it a few months, and you two are like best friends again. 

Little by little, you start to see the bright side again. I’m not completely okay yet, but I’m getting there. That’s because you fought even though you didn’t want to. All that fighting is paying off, I promise.

Believe it or not, there are moments to come when you are genuinely happy. Just a heads up, you’re going to want to stick around for Christmas, The Fourth of July, and even National Ice Cream Day. Believe me, those are going to be great days. You even find joy in small everyday things again. 

Your recovery will be a roller coaster. Like I said, we’re still recovering, and I know there will still be downs in the future, but I know we won’t stay down forever.

That’s all for now. Take care of yourself. 

Sincerely,

You, a year later

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

