I Don’t Know What to Say 

Just a heads up, this post doesn’t really have much of a point to it. I’m not going to edit it or make it some big production. Just like the title says, I don’t know what to say.

I guess nobody has the right words for something like this. The right words don’t exist. This situation shouldn’t happen, but we keep finding ourselves here. I hate to even go online, turn on the news, or tune into the radio in the car because I’m scared of what they’re going to say. It seems like we can’t even go two weeks without hearing of another attack or murder, and it sickens me.

Honestly, I can’t even keep track of all of the attacks that have happened in the last year, especially the ones that have happened within the last month or so. Innocent people are being killed, witnesses are being scarred and traumatized, and the world is at a loss for words.

If you haven’t already heard, France was attacked again. People were gathered together, watching fireworks and celebrating a national holiday. These people weren’t doing anything wrong, but that didn’t stop the attack from happening. Somebody drove a truck through a crowd of people for over a mile. I can’t even imagine the terror those people were feeling. I can’t help but flashback to every time I was watching fireworks on the Fourth of July. Whether I was with friends or family, I felt safe. I was having fun and making memories, just like those victims had a right to. Instead, those innocent people were either violently and unimaginably murdered or they were scarred by this violence.

In a world that is so full of love, I can’t even begin to imagine that kind of hate. The kind of hate where you want to see people panic, feel your vehicle crush the bodies of the innocent, and watch the life leave their eyes. How could anybody possibly be that cruel? How could you listen to people scream and cry, knowing you caused that? When you can live a life full of love, why would you ever choose a cold life full of hate? I am angry, shocked, and disgusted right now. I just don’t understand.

All I want to do right now is hug my family and friends, and let them know how much I love them. My heart is aching for the people who have lost someone they love due to hatred. My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone feeling the effects of these terrible attacks.

As always, stay kind.

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

