What Not to Say to Someone With a Mood Disorder 

Hey, guys! Before I begin my post, I want to apologize for not really posting in a while. I have been so busy lately, but I’m trying to post more. Now, to my blog post.

If you follow my blog, you know I have anxiety and depression. A lot of people want to support me, but they don’t know what to say. I compiled a list of things not to say to someone suffering from a mood disorder.

1. Don’t complain if you’re not reading your bible.

Yes, religion can help, but my problem is biological, and reading won’t cure it.

2. If you’re depressed, you’re living in the past. If you have anxiety, you’re living in the future.

No, I actually have a mood disorder that isn’t controlled by my outlook on life.

3. Just do things you enjoy.

Depression sucks the joy out of everything. I’m doing my best to find joy, but it isn’t that easy.

4. Your mood disorder is all in your head.

Well, yeah. That’s where my brain is located, and that’s where the problem lies. That’s like saying heart disease is located in your chest.

5. You’re doing this to yourself.

Yes, I enjoy this constant feeling of dread and emptiness. I love having a mood disorder. Of course I’m not doing this to myself.

6. You’re making this up for attention.

Why would I want your negative attention? Just stop.

7. What’s so wrong in your life that causes you to be depressed?

The chemical imbalance in my brain. That’s what causes it.

Those are only a few things you shouldn’t say to someone with a mood disorder. Please think about what you’re actually saying. 

Be kind always.

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

5 thoughts on “What Not to Say to Someone With a Mood Disorder ”

  1. Great post! It’s hard to believe that people still say stuff like this. Especially when there is so much accurate information about mental illness out there now. People just don’t understand just how damaging saying things like ‘you’re doing this to yourself’ are. I am quite hypersensitive, so if I were told something like that I’d probably feel completely terrible about myself for a few days afterwards. Either way thanks for raising awareness of this issue!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

