Anxiety/Depression Tips 

Hi, everyone.

If you follow my blog, you have probably noticed that I haven’t been posting as frequently as I usually do. I have been so busy lately, and if I’m being honest, my depression and anxiety disorder have been hell lately. While I haven’t been blogging, I have been learning new ways to cope with my mental health issues.

I have dealt with these issues in the past, and I know I will get through it. The thing is, I don’t ever know how long it will take. The waiting game drives me crazy, but I am learning to deal with it. I have come up with a few tips that I hope you will find to be helpful.

1. Live in the moment:

This one is my absolute favorite way to deal with depression and anxiety. There has been so much on my mind, that I just want to curl up under a blanket and disappear. Living in the moment helps me to stay productive.

For example, when I take a shower, I won’t think about anything else. I let my senses take over. I focus on the feeling of every drop falling on my skin and trickling down my body. I listen to the sound of the water falling. I let the warmth embrace me. I let myself actually feel the soap lather on my skin. I let myself notice the scent of different soaps mixing together. 

Letting my senses take over allows my mind to rest for a little while. I do this in a lot of situations. I will listen to the ticking noise of my turn signal when I drive. I feel the softness and warmth of my blanket when it’s wrapped around me. I focus on my breathing when I’m sitting still. I listen to the sound of my footsteps when I am walking. This allows me to clear my mind and appreciate the little things.

2. Create: 

This helps me so much. Whether you are drawing, writing, cooking, etc. this is an amazing thing to do. You take something so negative in your life, and you turn it into something wonderful. This is rewarding, and a great way to distract yourself.

3. Learn:

I love learning new things. Instead of dwelling on my anxiety and depression, I like to use that energy for something I truly enjoy. It distracts me from what is bothering me, and broadens my horizons.

These are just methods of coping, and in no way should be used as a substitute for professional help. I hope these tips have been helpful, and brought you a step closer to winning this battle.

Take care of yourselves. 

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

