How I Achieved Body Confidence 

I have struggled with body image for as long as I can remember, but I’m finally starting to love my body. I put on a bikini the other day, and it was the first time I have ever felt confident in a bathing suit. My body didn’t change, my perspective did. Here are five ways I learned to be confident in my own skin:

1. Work out: I don’t work out in an attempt to change the way my body looks, I do it to keep my body healthy. Working out helps me to appreciate my body and all it is capable of doing.

2. Consume healthy substances: I’m not saying to completely change your diet. In fact, I had McDonald’s for breakfast this morning. I do try to consume something healthy every day, though. I really enjoy drinking iced green tea every day. It keeps me feeling refreshed.

3. Observe your body: This may sound weird, but it really does help. I used to hate looking at my body, but now I don’t know what scared me so much. Observing my body helped me appreciate its shape and the way it moves. After looking at my body, I realized its normal.

4. Familiarize yourself with your body type: I realized that having a curvy frame means that I will never have a petite body. That being said, it seems like the ultimate “goal” is to have a petite body. I ditched my thinspiration board on Pinterest, and created a fitspiration board instead. I pin pictures of women with my body type whenever I want inspiration. Seeing women with my body type helped me appreciate my body. Those women are beautiful, why wouldn’t my body be considered beautiful, too? 

5. Surround yourself with body positive people: My best friend has similar views when it comes to body confidence. He sees what people would consider flaws in both of our bodies, and sees things that make up a real person with a real body. My parents taught me that if the inside is beautiful, the outside will inevitably be just as beautiful. Having this influence in my life has honestly helped me to love my body.

I hope these tips work, and you learn to love your body as well. 

Photo Credits

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

