“Fight”

This one little five letter word holds so much. I am so overwhelmingly stressed out right now, but I am going to prevail. 

As you may know, I frequently write about my struggle with depression. Although I am doing better than when I was first diagnosed, I am no stranger to the random depressive episode. Within the last few days, my depression has had me believing the lies it tells me. Here are some examples:

I will never make something of myself in this world.

It won’t be too long until everyone gives up on me.

Because of my mistakes, I have already ruined my life at nineteen years old.

The thing is, those are just lies. Depression takes your insecurities, and tells you they are your limits. Depression feeds off of your fear. Your hopelessness is depression’s strength. 

Fight it.

My motivation is running thin, and I am exhausted from fighting my own demons. I won’t stop fighting though. 

I’ve been tempted to give in, but a little voice inside my head makes itself known. 

“Fight.” 

That’s the only thing it ever says. The way it says it is what causes me to listen. It is determined, caring, and full of confidence. That is the voice of someone I never thought I would hear from again. That voice belongs to me. 

I know how draining depression is, but please keep fighting it. The fight against depression doesn’t have to be some epic scene from an action movie. It can be something as simple as drinking enough water because you recognize that you are valuable, and you need to take care of yourself. 

Fight for yourself. 

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

