A Sign From God 

When life gets difficult, it can sometimes feel like God has abandoned us. I know that feeling all too well, and I want to share a story with you. 

As you may know, when I was seventeen, my grandpa passed away after struggling with Alzheimer’s. My grandpa and I were really close, and he was always there to see my achievements. That being said, it absolutely broke my heart that he wouldn’t get to see me graduate from high school. 

I’m going to backtrack in this story for a moment. A few years ago, my grandpa gave me a ring for my birthday, and I wear it when I want to feel close to him. A few months before graduating, I took that ring off because I was doing a hands on lab in my chemistry class. I put the ring in my purse before the lab, but I couldn’t find it afterwards. I was devastated, and I completely emptied my purse out several times while trying to find it. Unfortunately, I had no luck.

Now, we’re going to flash forward to the day I graduated. I was sitting in the car with my family, where I had said a silent prayer asking God to give me a sign that my grandpa was with me. I didn’t really expect anything to happen because I thought God was deaf to my prayers. A few seconds later, my parents asked me where their tickets for the commencement ceremony were. I stashed the tickets in my purse, and opened it up to retrieve them. To my surprise, sitting right at the top of my purse was the ring my grandpa had given me; sitting in the purse that I had torn apart countless times in an attempt to find the ring. 

You can probably imagine how shocked I was. I gasped, and tears welled up in my eyes as I put my ring on. I couldn’t believe that God had actually heard my prayer and answered it. 

I wanted to share this true story with you because I know how lonely it can be when you feel like God has abandoned you. I also want you to know that God hears your prayers, and He will never leave you. It may seem like He is absent, but I promise He is doing marvelous things for you. I know you have probably heard this a million times, but you just have to trust His timing. 

Sometimes all you have to do to see God is open your eyes.

God bless. 

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

