Beautiful and Broken 

My body is healthy, but my mind isn’t. My soul is aching, but it doesn’t matter as long as I look like I’m properly put together. My depression is hell, but who cares when I carry myself so well?

This beauty mentality is a huge problem in today’s culture. We have a growing knowledge of mental illness, but we keep prioritizing physical beauty. From a Christian point of view, we are prioritizing our vessel, but not the cargo. Whether or not you’re a Christian, many of us can agree that personality is far more important than looks, but our actions don’t correlate with our views.

I think it’s ridiculous that I live in a world that instead of being happy about my medication helping my depression, all people seemed to care about was my weight fluctuation after taking the medicine. I hate that people weren’t happy that I was coping with stress better, but were happy that the breakouts on my face from stress had cleared.

We live in a world that doesn’t care how miserable we are, as long as we manage to look good. As long as our eyes are covered in makeup, no one cares how exhausted we are. As long as a layer of blush lays on our cheeks, no one cares that our natural glow has faded. As long as our lips have been kissed by lipstick, no one cares that they are not smiling.

This problem can also take a 180 degree turn. The desire to be beautiful can be what tears away at our soul. The media has created an unachievable beauty standard, and convinced people that they will not be happy until they live up to it.

The strive for perfection can completely wreak havoc on a person’s wellbeing. The inability to achieve an unrealistic goal can cause a feeling of failure and worthlessness, which can lead to depression and anxiety disorders.

We live in a world where without even realizing it, we believe success and beauty are synonymous.

I don’t know if this problem will ever completely go away, but I will consider it a success if just one person reevaluates their attitude towards mental health and beauty.

I just want you to focus on what is really important, and don’t try to change what can’t be changed.

 

Take care of yourself, and be kind always.

Photo credits

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

Leave a Reply

