Wisdom Wednesday: Taking the High Road 

Here’s a little wisdom for your Wednesday. You might be thinking that a nineteen year old probably doesn’t possess a lot of wisdom, but you would be wrong, my friend. I have been hearing some very negative things lately, and I want to share with you how I deal with those situations.
Recently, somebody said something to me so cruel and rotten, that I felt like I had the air knocked out of me as I was thrown to the ground. I won’t repeat what was said to me because there is absolutely no room on my blog for that kind of negativity. Anyway, I won’t pretend that I didn’t briefly let it get to me. The thing is, once I thought about the situation, I realized how ridiculous it was. I mean, why on Earth would I let somebody get to me like that?
I realized that some people will always be cruel. They will always tell me exactly how I should be. They will always tell me that I’m not a good person. They will always tell me that I have no worth. From now on, I will tell them they are wrong. I am the only person who decides who I am. I am a good person. I do have worth. Basically, what I am trying to say is that who I am is not defined by someone else’s opinion of me. When I was in high school, I definitely would have been dwelling on this for weeks. I refuse to dwell on this now. I will not focus on cruelty when I can be spreading a message of positivity and kindnesses.
I’m not writing this to complain about negativity or to brag about myself (although, I am happy with my personal growth through these types of situations.) I’m writing this because I know how sometimes it feels like there is no good left in the world. Just spend five minutes on the internet, and I’m sure you will find something so cruel that it will make your skin crawl. Whenever you feel this way, just remember that for some reason, people spread more of what they hate than what they love. There is so much good in this world, I promise you that. Somewhere out there, someone is performing a random act of kindness, somebody just heard the words “I love you” for the first time, someone just changed their life around, and somebody just achieved a goal.
I know people are going to try to tear you down and strip away everything that makes you unique at some point in your life. They can try all they want, but they won’t accomplish anything as long as you don’t give them the power. That is easier said than done, I know, but you will learn. I promise that for every mean person, there are at least two kind people.
Now, back to my situation because I never specifically told you how I dealt with the problem. I surrounded myself with people who care about me. I spent time with my family and friends, the people who build me up. I’m also learning how supportive the blogging community is, and I truly appreciate your kindness. I realized that when so many people care about me, it would be silly to let someone so bitter and mean hurt me.
I don’t wish anything bad upon this person. Honestly, I pray that God softens their heart and brings goodness into their life. In a world that is so fond of spreading hate, I don’t want to add to it. I don’t want revenge, I just want people to be kind to each other.
I also pray that people are nothing but good to all of you. I know that is extremely unlikely, but I hope that you all will learn how to let go of negativity, and spread love and kindness.
I know that this post was probably just word vomit, but I hope you gained some inspiration from it.

Be kind always, my friends

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

2 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday: Taking the High Road ”

  1. I think you deal with it in one of the best ways you can deal with those situation. As all, I also experience negativity from family members, teachers, supervisors and people that called themselves friends. Sometimes it can be hard because you feel that no one believes in you, but I did as you did and start to surround by positive people that actually care of my well-being. I think that is one of the best things that I did and I can say that I am currently a step closer of completing my goals and that have allow me to exceed my expectations and things that I once though impossible was suddenly happening. I think that is a step closer to happiness and I am happy you are in the right track.

    Like

Leave a Reply

