Make Like Elsa, and Let It Go

Disney princesses have a history of being unrealistic. Their hair constantly looks like it is professionally styled, they wake up effortlessly, and the first guy they meet is Prince Charming with whom they fall in love with at first sight. That being said, I think we can all learn a lesson from our favorite ice queen, Elsa. We all need to learn to let go of what is holding us back in life.

I will be the first person to admit that I have let other people’s opinions dictate my life. For so long the way I looked, what I was interested in, and my overall personality didn’t belong to me. I didn’t belong to me. I thought the key to happiness was the acceptance of others. I could not have been more wrong. I vividly remember instances where someone’s negative opinion of me would sting so bad that I would immediately change some aspect of myself so I would never have to feel that way again. No matter how much I changed myself, no matter how much others accepted me, I still was not happy. Just within the past twelve months, it finally hit me; what my parents and genuine friends had been telling me all along was true. The only acceptance I needed was my own.

The reason I am writing this is because I know how much pressure kids, teenagers, and even adults feel to fit in. Since I can’t go back and change how I handled that pressure, I am going to tell you exactly what I wish I could tell my younger self. I know you have probably heard all of this before, but just stick with me for a few more moments.

I know how cliché this all sounds, but take it from the person who has been in your situation and genuinely wants you to be happy; the opinion of others honestly does not matter. Even if you could somehow magically make everyone else on Earth like you, it won’t mean a damn thing if you don’t like yourself. Everybody is unique and brings something different to the table, so please don’t deprive the world of the unique and amazing person that you are. Sure, you have flaws, but I’m going to let you in on a secret; everybody has flaws. That’s right, I do, you do, and so does every single person you are trying to make happy by being some unrealistic definition of “perfect”. While we’re on the subject of perfect, I’m sure you’ve heard there is no such thing. That statement is absolutely correct. Just take a second to think about it. Everybody has a different definition of perfection, and there is no possible way you can match everybody’s. So please just try to be the best version of yourself that you can be, because you honestly have just as much of a say in what is acceptable, attractive, and interesting as everybody else does.Please please please (yes, this is me begging) just be yourself and be happy, because honestly, the only way you can be happy is by being yourself.

I hope you take my advice to heart, and will begin the ongoing process of not only accepting yourself, but proudly embracing who you are.

Author: sailthroughmythoughts

My name is Megan, and I am twenty years old. I started my blog, Sail Through My Thoughts, because I want people to be able to find inspiration and comfort in whatever situation they are in.

4 thoughts on “Make Like Elsa, and Let It Go”

  1. Hi Megan, I like you post and is very true. We all had pass from those situations. I think more when we are in our early teenager face, maybe it is because the hormonal changes that makes us feel weird and we want to feel normal again and part of something. However, for the reason that might be some people still in that approval face. I am happy that you realize earlier than some of us and realize that what matter is how we feel with ourselves that show that you are growing and becoming a more mature person. And more important than by loving yourself you are becoming happier and stronger. Keep it up girl! Looking forward to you next post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, theartofcreativity. Thank you so much for your feedback! I definitely agree that hormonal changes play a part in a teenager’s desire to feel normal again. I think there is also a great amount of pressure to fit in that manifests into our adult lives. I’m hoping to inspire others to learn to let go of that pressure, and be unapologetically themselves.
      Thanks again for the feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

